Running Up That Hill

I’m signed up for a “mountain adventure race” that is taking place in less than a month.  I put that in quotes because there is no mountain in my town.  There is an escarpment that we call a mountain.  I thought I should clear this up, lest anyone think that I’m training to run up a legitimate peak.

Keeping active is one of the things I’ve tried hard to do during C’s infancy so far.  It’s good for both of us.  I think it’s important to model a healthy lifestyle.  I want to be able to keep up with Pete once I actually get my own bike (one of Pete’s may have to move out to make room.)  And C really likes being around other babies at mom-and-baby fitness classes.  It’s a win-win-win.

I started going to postnatal fitness classes at the YMCA when C was seven weeks old.  At first, I took it easy and only went once a week.   I went for lots of walks with her in those first few months though, because the weather was absolutely glorious until mid-December.

In January I added a second postnatal class to our schedule, and this one was more of a boot camp.  C loves these classes, because she gets to hang out with other babies and watch moms jump around and do endless burpees and generally suffer a lot.  Babies like that sort of thing.

I became friends with some pretty active and athletic new moms who encouraged me to sign up for this race.  And I’ve had a lot of fun training with them.

Here is a photo of our group training to get ourselves over a 6’ wall (among other obstacles).  The YMCA staff have been great and have set up obstacles for us to train on.  They’re super fantastic.

All in all, I’ve had a great time training for this race.  The actual race may kill me, but the training has been fun.  But as I’ve gotten stronger I’ve started to wonder: how will I be able to keep fit once I start working again?

I said in my first post that I was hoping to get some tips from readers.  Right now, I’m able to exercise because I bring C with me to the gym during the day.  But once I go back to work, I won’t be able to do that.

Here’s what I want to know from parents who work.  How do you find time to exercise? 

6 thoughts on “Running Up That Hill

  1. Suzanne,

    I think it’s amazing that you will be taking part in a race up a “mountain”, can’t wait to hear how it goes. Even if it’s not a real mountain, it still sounds crazy.

    • Thanks, Tyanna. It does sound a bit crazy, and since it’s the first time it’s being put on here, no one is exactly sure what to expect. There are all sorts of rumours swirling around town about the obstacles. They’re slowly building some of the obstacles so we’re starting to get a sense of what we’re in for. I’ll definitely post about how it goes, if I survive.

  2. So proud of you, Suz! It can definitely be hard to balance everything we have in front of us…add a baby to the mix I am in awe! I have no advice on the balancing act, but sounds to me like you are off to a great start caving out a little time for yourselves to do the things you love so that you can be better parents, partners, and friends. xo

    • We’re proud of you, too! Pete was actually asking how you find the time to train for your crazy ultra-marathons while jet-setting. He wanted me to ask. And then how do you get prettied up afterwards to go out for Guinness?

      • Well, it ain’t easy…and in the week leading up to the last ultra, I was in 5 countries (Indonesia, Dubai, Switzerland, UK, Ireland) and came down with a cold two days before race day. I suppose that what I may lack in training sometimes, I make up for with stubbornness- I mean, determination! I also trick my friends into making “social time” something active- a hike so I can scout a new trail (and maybe run and up down a few sections then catch up with them again), a long bike ride (also good for strength and endurance), and sometimes I split my exercise time to fit in more than one session a day. That and I get up really early 🙂

        How to get prettied up for a Guinness? Well, it’s Guinness, it deserves nothing less 😉 Wishing you best of luck with your race- wish I was around to join you!

  3. Hey Sista! Love the blog. Keep it up. I try to get exercise in little ways whenever possible: parking far away, taking the stairs, standing at my desk… I try to walk since I can do that with A. The biggest thing is, I go from one activity to the next: dinner, clean-up, play time, story time, bed time for A, then banjo or exercise or both, sometimes some reading and then bed. I don’t know how people find the time (or the desire) for tv. Occasionally I work in the evening but mostly I work through lunches and try not to socialize too much, even though I really like a lot of my colleagues. And I’ve accepted the fact that my house is not very tidy and won’t be for several years. Well, now it’s time for banjo practice. “Come and listen to a story ’bout a man named Jed…”

Leave a Reply

