Race Goals

Race day is coming up fast and I’m starting to feel…ready for it to be over.  I’ve been training fairly hard, for me, anyway.  I’ve been going to postnatal fitness classes, running several times a week, going to the odd yoga class and to some spinning at the Y.  I’ve run the course a few times with some of the other new moms who are doing the race.

Image

Here we are at the top of the hill!

I’ve had a good time and it’s been fun to see results, especially after having a baby.  But I’ve found myself running low on free time for other things.

I’m definitely not going to set any records, and I won’t be able to get myself over an 8 foot wall by myself.  Even the over-unders are going to be a challenge.

Image

Over-unders are a heck-of-a-thing.

And I’ve blocked out the fact that one of the obstacles involves *fire*.  I’m just in this race for the fun of it.

Image

Photographic evidence of the fun.

But I do have some goals:

1)      Do not get poison ivy.  This is most important.  Even more important than finishing.  I get poison ivy if it wafts on the breeze in my direction, so this could be difficult.  But I’m going to do everything in my power to stay in the middle of the trail and not be pushed off into the poison-ivy-laden forest.  Watch out for my elbows, racers.

2)      Finish.  I’m pretty sure I’ll finish, but there will be snow and fire and poison ivy and spectators with super soakers, so who knows.

3)      Get a photo with the girls.  This could be tricky, because we’ll all be finishing at different times, but it may happen.

Overall, I’m glad I signed up for this crazy race.  Let’s hope I still feel that way on Saturday at 9:00 am.

5 thoughts on “Race Goals

  1. Great work with all the training! Most important is to have fun, to enjoy the camaraderie, and to finish with a smile on your face. I soooo wish I could join this with you. Maybe there is something fun in August when I am around? I will call your race “Mud, Sweat, and Beers!” 🙂

  2. Oh, I like the sound of that race! We could just make one up. I’d also like to suggest that we end with a little dip in the bay. Mud, Sweat, Beers and Float.
    I know there’s a half-marathon in September around here but I’m not sure about August. I’ll get on the case!

  3. Great post! I’m so looking forward to the race (and for it to be over too!). We’re going to have a great time on Saturday. We’ll have to go for a well deserved beer after it all.

  4. Pingback: Happy SITS Day to Me | Bike, Banjo & Baby

Leave a Reply

