Suzuki commands, I obey

Last month, I participated in David Suzuki’s 30/30 Challenge.  I did my very best to spend at least 30 minutes outside every day.  And since I’m home full-time with my ten-month-old, I usually dragged her out with me.  We got really lucky and the month of June was, for the most, part, beautiful.

Here are some of my favourite photos from the past month.

C and I joined some friends for our first trip to the zoo.  Of all the animals, C was most afraid of the pygmy goats.  Interesting.

C at the zoo. In the stroller behind her is of her besties.

C tried out the swingset for the first time.  There was a lot of leg-pedalling.  I think she thought that might make her go faster.

C loving the swingset.

We went to a party at the Early Years Centre.  Pete was mostly in it for the hot dogs.

Pete and C heading to a party at the Ontario Early Years Centre.

There was a bilingual outdoor puppet show.

Enjoying an outdoor puppet show at the Early Years Centre.

The next day, we went for a hike along a particularly beautiful section of the Bruce Trail.  We stayed up too late the night before, hence Pete’s sleepiness.

Going for a hike on the Bruce Trail.

C enjoyed the backpack for about ten minutes.  She’s already starting to get annoyed in this photo.

C tolerating a hike.

We got a break from the heat at the shady waterfront park.

Tummy time at the waterfront park.

This challenge did a great job of reminding me to take some time away from errands and tasks and busywork to just get outside and enjoy some quality time with my little family.  Life with a baby can be so hectic, and the time just flies by.  I’m hoping that I can keep this up and take a few minutes every day to get outside with C.  We’re starting July off on the right foot with a trip to the family cottage.

Happy Canada Day!

2 thoughts on “Suzuki commands, I obey

  1. Sounds like you had an awesome time! I usually spend more than 30 minutes outside every day all put together, but not usually doing anything interesting. You know, just, waiting for a bus or something.

  2. And I’m sure, being in the city, that you walk quite a bit more than we do. We’re in a town of about 20,000, and we can walk to our downtown, but it’s just a bit too far for running errands so we usually end up driving. Bah. Being outside is being outside, even if you’re just standing around waiting for a bus. Plus, I’m sure you get to do a lot of good people-watching. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

