A Little Explanation

I’ve been writing some heavier posts lately.  Pete has been proofreading them for me and he thinks that I should explain where these posts have been coming from.

You see, I struggle with self-doubt and with the idea that my writing is banal.  When I was in second-year university, a professor wrote this scathing word on one of my papers and it has haunted me ever since.  Looking back, that paper was banal.  I phoned it in.  But for some reason, his critique stuck with me.  I seem to have applied the crushing label “banal” to all my writing ever since.

Photo via thehothands.org

So, when I felt I had been posting too many recipes or lists of books that I’ve read (boring!) I decided to write about politics and current events.  I am a political science grad after all, and minimal-fee-paying member of the Canadian Political Science Association (don’t tell them I’m no longer a student!)

Anyway, whenever Pete reads my heavier posts, he always says: “Well, I think it’s really interesting and well-written, but probably no one is going to read it.”  Which is likely true, with the exception of my mom and sister.  But that’s okay.  I’ll post another recipe shortly and drive traffic up.  And I’m hoping, after they’ve jotted down the ingredients, that they might stick around and read about One Billion Rising.

Thanks, as always, for reading.

11 thoughts on “A Little Explanation

  1. well, i would like to be added to the (perceived) short list of those who not only read your well-written pieces but enjoy them. nothing banal here.

  2. i completely understand! which i guess is part of what makes reading your words satisfying and engaging: it’s nice to know we’re not alone in holding onto specific — often seemingly bizarre and insignificant –moments.

  3. Interesting, because lately I have been feeling like we have been doing too many light, fun posts and am ready for a serious one. My favorite writing to read is the writing that is real, regardless of whether it is funny or serious. I think your serious posts are real and therefore, make me want to read them. 🙂

  4. I’m loving your serious posts! I think we all struggle with self-doubts. It’s been three years since I last dug out my manuscript and five years since I started it. After being torn apart by literary agents, I just put it away. Gave up. I sucked. Or so I thought. This year, I made the goal of editing and revising and again trying to find an agent. Be brave!!!!

  5. Ouch. Banal? I haven’t read many of your posts, but banal is totally NOT how I’d describe your writing. I’m glad you’re shrugging off that label, because it’s not true, and it’s weighing you down. Whether you write light or heavy topics, as long as it’s your truth, it’s going to be good. Keep on keeping on.

  6. I’m so glad you write on these things! One Billion Rising is a topic EVERYONE should be writing about. I was a part of the V-Day here in Montana and I can’t wait to see more people RISE UP!
    (Btw – I found you through SITS)

Leave a Reply

