Blog Neglect

76839-will-orange-is-the-new-black-be-netflixs-next-big-hit-series

I’ve been neglecting my blog lately. I’m sure no one is alarmed or particularly put out by this. It would probably seem safe to assume that I’m slacking because I’m in my third trimester of pregnancy and I chase after an almost-two-year-old all day. I am tired, but that’s definitely not why I’m slacking. No, it’s because I’ve been binge-watching. I’m not proud of myself, but I’ve become addicted to Orange is the New Black.

It’s so zeitgeisty of me to be binge-watching right now. And that’s weird, because I’m usually resistant to things that are zeitgeisty. I don’t even own a smartphone. But I was bored one night when Pete was working late and decided to give Orange is the New Black a try, and I got hooked. Mind you, I didn’t get hooked right away. I hated the first episode, and disliked the second. But I was addicted by episode three.

I don’t want to discuss much about the show, because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but suffice it to say that OITNB has such a fantastic cast of fully-realized, fleshed-out female characters, it’s a joy to watch it all unfold. Once I got through the first two episodes, which essentially introduce the viewer to the main character and the world she’s entering, I started to really love learning about all the other characters and their backstories.

So, for now, I’m going to enjoy my binge-watching while I have the time for it. I’m pretty sure newborns don’t tolerate this sort of thing.

5 thoughts on “Blog Neglect

  1. Oh gosh, that looks like something I’d get totally addicted to as well! I love it that you use the word “zeitgeisty!” And you’ll probably be ok watching for a little while with a newborn… what else are you going to do while nursing/pumping/feeding? LOL. Hope all goes well with the delivery!

  2. I’m totally hooked on this show too!! It’s goooooood! I find myself sacrificing sleep so I can watch an episode a night! Only this and The Newsroom has me turning the boob tube on these days. HEY! I think I figured out why they call it the boob tube!

    *Jess*

    • I know! It’s SO good. I still have four episodes to go and I’m told those last four episodes are incredible. I’m almost nervous about the second season because so many shows start out really strong and then decline after the first season. I’m a worrier, though.

  3. I’m totally hooked on this show too!! It’s goooooood! I find myself sacrificing sleep so I can watch an episode a night! Only this and The Newsroom has me turning the boob tube on these days. HEY! Maybe that’s why they call it the boob tube!

Leave a Reply

