Recipe Roundup: Coconut Cream Pie, Cherry Oat Crumble and Oatmeal Date Muffins

I’ve been baking up a storm lately, and rather than post individually about each recipe, I thought I would do a Recipe Roundup of sorts.

My parents recently came back from their trip to Florida, and as a welcome-home treat, I made a Coconut Cream Pie. Coconut Cream Pie is my mom’s favourite, and for some reason, I’ve never attempted to make one. This turned out to be silly, because it’s the easiest thing in the world to make.

I found this simple recipe online.

Mom absolutely loved it and so did my Dad. And Pete, who is usually hardest to impress, even said “I think you’re turning me around on coconut.”

Photos like this demonstrate why this will never be a photography blog

Photos like this demonstrate why this will never be a photography blog

The next recipe I tried out was a Cherry Oat Crumble. This just kind of happened. I’ve been wanting to bake a pineapple upside-down cake for a while and put “maraschino cherries” on our shopping list. Pete came home and said “I have no idea what kind of cherries you were talking about.” He bought cherry pie filling. So I searched around in my trusty Cookbook ’78 and sure enough, I found a recipe calling for cherry pie filling (other than a cherry pie, of course).

IMG_3879

It was tasty enough, but not a “taste explosion” according to Pete. I don’t think I would make it again, even if I had extra cherry pie filling kicking around.

IMG_3881

The next oat-based treat I decided to try were some Oatmeal Date Muffins. I love having fresh muffins in the house because they’re a good snack to send with C to daycare. Also, when I make them myself I cut back on sugar and try to make them “healthier” than they otherwise would be.

IMG_3885

I mostly followed the recipe, although, like I said, I reduced the sugar. I also used some whole wheat flour and added some coconut, because I’m a coconut monster.

IMG_3886

These were a hit. Evidence above. I meant to take a photo of the muffins once they were out of the oven but before I could, one of them went missing.

Pete’s Muffin Review: “They taste good, but they have a healthy texture, and I don’t like healthy textures.”

Here are the recipes:

Cherry Oat Crumble

3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup pre-sifted flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup soft butter
1 – 20 oz. can cherry pie filling
1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Blend first seven ingredients until crumbly. Place pie filling in a 9″ square baking dish. Stir in almond flavouring. Sprinkle crumb mixture on top. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Oatmeal Date Muffins

Note: This recipe is somewhat confusing and I ultimately just did my own thing: soak the oats, mix the dry ingredients together, the wet ingredients together and then fold them into the oats. I also added coconut because I can’t get enough coconut, ever.

1 cup rolled oats
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup cooking oil
1 cup chopped dates
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking power
1 cup buttermilk (Almond milk also works well)
1/2 cup brown sugar (I used a little less)
1 cup all-purpose flour (I used half all-purpose and half whole-wheat)
1/2 teaspoon salt
* I added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 cup shredded coconut, because coconut is the best thing in the world

Combine rolled oats and buttermilk (or Almond milk) in mixing bowl and soak for one hour. Add egg and brown sugar to oat mixture and beat well – stir in cooking oil and dates. Grease muffin pans. Makes 12 muffins. Oven 400 for 12-15 minutes.

One thought on “Recipe Roundup: Coconut Cream Pie, Cherry Oat Crumble and Oatmeal Date Muffins

  1. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste.com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

Leave a Reply

